It was reported that WhatsApp is working on adding a feature that would allow users to hide their online status.
Users will be able to decide who can see when they are online on the instant messaging app using this feature.
It’s likely to be included in a future version. Furthermore, it has been claimed that the Meta-owned company is extending the time limit for some beta testers to delete messages.
WhatsApp for Android beta 126.96.36.199, accessible through the Google Play Beta program, has the feature.
Additionally, a fully working context menu for Windows beta is reportedly being rolled out by WhatsApp.
According to a report by WhatsApp feature tracker WABetaInfo, the messaging app, which is owned by Meta, is working on a feature that would allow users to hide their online status from certain contacts.
Once available, this functionality will allow users to choose who may view their online status directly from WhatsApp Privacy Settings.
A screenshot of the updated privacy setting functionality is included in the report.
According to rumors, this feature is being worked on and will probably become accessible in a later update.
In related news, it has been claimed that WhatsApp is updating the time span for message deletion for all users.
The messaging app reportedly sends out the upgrade with the 188.8.131.52 beta for Android through the Google Play Beta program.
According to the source, WhatsApp is raising the time limit for the “Delete for Everyone” feature from the present one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds time options to two days and 12 hours.
Users might remove messages sent in error with the longer time frame.